U.S. Department of Defense - Missile Defense Agency

U.S. Department of Defense - Missile Defense Agency

Site Map
Official logo of the US Missile Defense Agency

Missile Defense Agency

MDA News Release

5700 18th Street, Bldg 245
Fort Belvoir, VA 22060-5573

Missile Defense Agency Presents Ronald W. Reagan and Technology Achievement Awards

March 29, 2010

The 2010 Missile Defense Agency's (MDA) Ronald W. Reagan Missile Defense Award and the Technology Achievement Awards were presented by MDA director Lt. General Patrick O'Reilly during the eighth annual U.S. Missile Defense Conference in Washington, D.C. on March 24, 2010.

Ambassador Henry F. Cooper, Former Director, Strategic Defense Initiative Organization (SDIO), was the recipient for the 2010 Ronald W. Reagan Missile Defense Award. Ambassador Cooper is currently chairman of the board of High Frontier, a non-profit, non-partisan educational corporation formed to examine the potential for defending the U.S. against ballistic missile attack.

Founded by General Daniel O. Graham in the early 1980's, High Frontier played a key role in developing the framework for President Ronald Reagan's Strategic Defense Initiative (SDI). Under Ambassador Cooper's direction, High Frontier continues to inform the nation of the growing threat of ballistic missiles and of the need for a workable missile defense.

The Technology Achievement Award was presented to the "Burnt Frost" project team for its dedication and technical expertise in the successful shootdown of a malfunctioning U.S. satellite in February 2008.

The Burnt Frost team recipients included RADM Brad Hicks, USN Retired, MDA; Dr. Richard Roca, Director of Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab; Dr. Greg Hyslop, Boeing; Mr. Joe Rappisi, Lockheed Martin; Dr. Marc Bernstein, Lincoln Labs; Mr. Dan Smith, Raytheon; Dr. Lou Bellaire, MIT Lincoln Laboratory; Dr. Gary Sullins, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab; Mr. Adam Art, Raytheon; Mr. Stephen Stone, Raytheon; Mr. Paul Smith, Boeing; Mr. Scott Parks, Boeing; Mr. Scott Perry, MDA; Mr. John Bier, MDA; Dr. Tony Desimone, Lockheed Martin; and Mr. Richard Hussey, Raytheon.

The Technology Achievement Award was also presented to the Theater Critical Measurements Program (TCMP) team for their efforts under the Strategic Defense Initiative Organization (SDIO) to improve understanding in the behavior of Theater Ballistic Missiles (TBMs) and the potential of various mitigation techniques against debris and countermeasures.

The TCMP team recipients included Dr. Paul Temple, SDIO; Dr. Keh-Ping Dunn, MIT Lincoln Laboratory; LTC Chris Johnson, SDIO; Mr. Chuck Jennings, U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command; Dr. Donald Coe, MIT Lincoln Laboratory; Dr. Daniel O'Connor, MIT Lincoln Laboratory; Mr. David Immerman, MIT Lincoln Laboratory; and Mr. David Israel (posthumous), Deputy Director, SDIO.